Beatles Song Countdown: 25-21

25: I Am The Walrus

Album: Magical Mystery Tour
Writer: Lennon
Singer: Lennon

Verdict: An intentional nonsense song John wrote just to confuse the analytically obsessed. The lyrics themselves are not that attractive; it’s definitely not a song I ever just sing to myself. But dang it John’s voice is spectacular as are the backing musicians, especially the strings. I also love all the crescendoing, as if the song means something more than it does. 

24: She’s A Woman

Album: Past Masters, Volume 1
Writer: McCartney
Singer: McCartney

Verdict: The B-side to “I Feel Fine” and it became a top ten hit. Like “Oh! Darling” this one really showcases Paul’s powerful pipes. Of course it made me write that horrible sentence, so…    “My love don’t give me presents” is such a stupid line but Paul pulls it off. And he’s not the only one. My favorite ever performance on American Idol came from Chikezie.

 

23. She’s Leaving Home

Album: Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
Writer: Lennon/McCartney
Singer: Lennon/McCartney

Verdict: One of the saddest songs in the Beatles library, this one about a runaway really hits home. Can’t say I’m a huge fan of all the strings in this one. I would love to hear this a cappela. Apparently he did for Brian Wilson and made him cry.

22. Day Tripper

Album: Past Masters, Volume 2
Writer: Lennon/McCartney
Singer: Lennon/McCartney

Verdict: John and Paul fought a lot, but they really were at their best when they worked together. That opening guitar lick…man. Not much in the way of lyrics, just barely veiled drug and sex references. But yeah, this one’s just a great listen. “It took me soooooo-oh-wo-oh-wooooo loooooong to find out!”

21: I’m Only Sleeping

Album: Revolver
Writer: Lennon
Singer: Lennon

Verdict: Literally written about his weeks long staying-in-bed and getting high binges. A great follow up to Eleanor Rigby with John getting to show off his underutilized high voice. “Going by my window!” is pitch perfect.

2 thoughts on “Beatles Song Countdown: 25-21

  1. I don’t like “I Am the Walrus” as a song but when I heard what it was about, or rather not about, I gained a newfound respect for these assholes. I’m sure I would’ve done something similar if I found myself famous beyond my own comprehension.

    “Day Tripper” is one of those harmless ones I think I’d drop in the middle and forget about.

    I guess I’m not crazy about “I’m Only Sleeping” but I always liked it in the context of Revolver.

  2. I think I would have made the same comment about “My love don’t give me presents.” That should sound way stupider than it does.

    “She’s Leaving Home” is a decent enough ballad.

Leave a Reply

