Beatles Song Countdown: 30-26

30: Martha My Dear

Album: The Beatles
Writer: McCartney
Singer: McCartney

Verdict: A passive-aggressive song here by Paul that sounds lighter than it really is. Not his best work, but the orchestra background kicks some ass. So, go George Martin!

29: I’ve Just Seen A Face

Album: Help!
Writer: McCartney
Singer: McCartney

Verdict: Up-tempo country with cascading rhymes? Yes please!  Just take a look at the structure of this one:

I have never known
The like of this, I’ve been alone
And I have missed things
And kept out of sight
But other girls were never quite
Like this

Ah, what a rush this song is.

28. Cry Baby Cry

Album: The Beatles
Writer: Lennon/McCartney
Singer: Lennon/McCartney

Verdict: Lennon wrote and sang “Cry Baby Cry”, but the outro is “Can You Take Me Back” by Paul (another example of them just smashing songs together), and since I love that outro I’m crediting both here. A much better lullaby than “Good Night” which comes two songs later.

27. If I Fell

Album: A Hard Day’s Night
Writer: Lennon
Singer: Lennon/McCartney

Verdict: A great song to listen in mono. John and Paul harmonize immensely well here (Paul’s high notes are bone chilling) and George’s guitar work is top-notch. Surprisingly minimalist for the band during this period.

26: Dear Prudence

Album: The Beatles
Writer: Lennon
Singer: Lennon

Verdict: Such a sweet, sweet song written for Prudence Farrow who locked herself in her room for three weeks obsessed with meditation. Don’t care much for the “look around” chanting otherwise this would rank higher.

2 thoughts on “Beatles Song Countdown: 30-26

  1. “Dear Prudence” is the only one I recognize, and I can’t actually remember it. Okay, five new songs it is…

  2. “Martha My Dear” is okay, but forgettable among the others. I might be hitting Beatles overload here.

    “I’ve Just Seen a Face” is a great break from the norm. These bastards really could play in a lot of different musical words with dexterity.

    “Cry Baby Cry” is forgettable too. Yeah, I’m on overload here.

    Yeah, I obviously know “If I Fell.” These harmonies are engaging and I definitely dig this song.

    I figured I’d remember “Dear Prudence” pretty quickly when it played, and I do. The extra insight on the song helps a lot.

Leave a Reply

