Four Weddings and a Funeral

Year: 1994
Director: Mike Newell

Summary: Over the course of five social occasions, a committed bachelor must consider the notion that he may have discovered love.

Times Watched: 1

My Experience: I saw this almost twenty years after it came out. Looking back I’m surprised it was nominated for Best Picture. It’s not that I don’t like it; out of 29 movies I’ve seen from 1994, I have it ranked #8. I’m just surprised because it’s mostly and out-and-out comedy, neither American nor starring Robin Williams. A bit of an inspired nomination by the Academy. It’s certainly better than the winner that year, Forrest Gump. That reminds me I need to see Quiz Show.

The humor still holds up, especially the antics from all the side characters. I smiled throughout most of the movie and laughed out loud a few times. I love Hugh Grant most of the time, and he’s delightfully awkward and British here. I just really wish they had found someone else to play the American girl. The line “Is it still raining? I hadn’t noticed,” is considered by many to be one of the worst lines in a popular film. Surely, the writers could have done better. But I can actually see it being delivered well by a different actress. McDowell’s delivery turns a cute, romantic climax into a mockery. And shame on the director for not noticing.

One thought on “Four Weddings and a Funeral

  1. I’ve seen part of this and laughed some. I never did see the offending scene, however, and I’m hesitant to put myself through it here.

Leave a Reply

