Original Theme Songs: 6, 5

6. Duck Tales

Composer: Mark Mueller

Artist: Jeff Pescetto

Not surprisingly, the same guy also wrote the theme to Rescue Rangers. I don’t know what it is about this theme I love so much. It doesn’t blow you out of the water with powerful vocals, witty lyrics, or a grand orchestra. I think it just puts me in a really good mood with all the energy and crescendos.

5. Welcome Back Kotter

Composer: John Sebastian

Artist: John Sebastian

I do like me some Lovin’ Spoonful, so it’s not surprising I love this theme. More than his voice, though, I appreciate how the song encapsulates the theme of the show without mentioning any character names. It’s definitely high on cheese, but so is the show. Up your  nose with a rubber hose! Indeed.

For what it’s worth, this song reached the #1 spot on the Billboard Top 100 in 1976.

One thought on “Original Theme Songs: 6, 5

  1. I like the Duck Tales theme as much as you or anyone for that matter, and I also am unsure how to put a finger on it.

    I know the Kotter song pretty well, but I don’t know that I ever saw a single minute of the show. I couldn’t have told you The Lovin’ Spoonful was responsible.

Leave a Reply

