Original Theme Songs: 32, 31

32. NYPD Blue

Composer: Mike Post

The first of several entries in this countdown by Mike Post. The guy was good at his job. For the life of me, I couldn’t find just the regular opening credits sequence to this show anywhere on-line, so here’s an extended mash-up that ain’t too bad.

31. Whose Line Is It Anyway?

Composer: Philip Pope

The American version of the show is weaker in every single way (save Wayne Brady) than the British version. The British version had the funnier and less obtrusive host. They got more games into each episode. They had a wider variety of comedians that kept things fresh. It was less censored. And the theme song was miles better.

2 thoughts on “Original Theme Songs: 32, 31

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever seen an episode of NYPD Blue, despite its status as an American staple for years. There’s just something about a police drama at that time that always kept me at bay, particularly at that time. I just can’t get into a drama set in a dangerous environment when I don’t believe anyone will die, and that’s what the networks were for me. However, I recognize the theme and could’ve named half the people who were going to show up on the sequence.

    Funny about Whose Line…when you listed it, I’d forgotten that the US show didn’t use the same theme. The only one in my head is the British one, despite my having seen all of them.

    • I watched NYPD Blue quite a bit because my dad had it on. It’s perfectly fine, but I honestly can’t remember any particular episode even if I liked many of them. I do remember it was first show I remember on primetime where I heard the word “jackass.” Surprisingly, Mad About You was the next show where I heard that word.

Leave a Reply

