17. They Might Be Giants

The most annoying world in Super Mario Bros. 3 is hands-down world three. Plumbers apparently are terrible swimmers, and navigating underwater is only marginally less frustrating than killing off all four ninja turtles in two minutes. The designers felt a frog suit would be a nice bone to toss at gamers, but it’s barely an improvement underwater, and a nightmare when back on land.

A satisfying meal in three…two…one…

 

So after surviving World 3, I was hoping for something a little breezier, and drier.

 

BAHHHHHH!!!

4 thoughts on “17. They Might Be Giants

  1. God, I loved giant world. As I remember, though, it’s easy to skip with a warp zone. I don’t remember 3 as much as most people, though, as it was probably my least favorite of the series (I know…I’m that guy).

    I remember the first few times I encountered enemies there. My brother and I laughed like hell.

    • I never skipped over this world because I also loved it. I also decided at some point in my Mario gaming days that it was more fun to try to go through the entire game rather than just warp past everything.

    • Your memory is correct. Though, it’s fairly easy to skip the entire game if you get all the whistles from levels 1 and 2.

Leave a Reply

