Philip Seymour-Hoffman

Date of Death: February 2, 2014
Age: 46
Cause of Death: Acute mixed drug intoxication

The only death on this list I learned via iPhone on my Facebook feed. I was in a room of people and exclaimed “Ah, shit!” as soon as I read it. One of my favorite actors, I liked him instantly when I first saw him in Scent of a Woman. I’m not a huge movie watcher, but I managed to also catch him in The Big Lebowski, Patch Adams, and Happiness. I didn’t really care for the last two movies in that list, but I vividly remember his performances. So far I have managed to miss Capote and Moneyball, though I want to see both. I had just watched Catching Fire when I heard the news. Even when the guy got a handful of lines in a movie that wasn’t going to win him any awards, he nailed his performance. I hear he had already filmed his scenes for the third Hunger Games movie. I’ll watch that, if nothing else, to see Hoffman one more time.

One thought on “Philip Seymour-Hoffman

  1. See Capote. It’s not a spectacular movie, but it’s one of the best performances you’ll ever see.

    This one hit my community hard, as you’d guess. It just sucks.

Leave a Reply

