Quentin Tarantino

Quentin Tarantino reportedly watched every single movie in his video store before he became a director. It wouldn’t surprise me, considering every eight seconds in his movies is an homage to something. Still, I never feel like he’s copying anything as his scripts are fresh and he finds ways to tell familiar stories in a way nobody has ever done. I’m sad I haven’t seen anything he’s made in the past ten years as I’m sure I’d love most of it.

Kill Bill: Volume 2: I enjoyed the trailer home scene and the ending quite a bit, but I was bored for most of this film.. Though I appear to be in the minority about this, so if you like the first movie, certainly don’t listen to me.

Grade: C

Kill Bill: Volume 1: I love how damn stylish this movie is, mixing martial arts within a suburban setting. I found myself smiling almost from beginning to end. The plot is intriguing, the fight between Uma Thurman and Vivica A. Fox is brilliant. the fight between Thurman and Lucy Liu is almost as good, and the scene in the board room still gives me goosebumps. However, the climax of the movie–a crazy, mother-of-all martial arts fight scenes–goes on too long for me, but your mileage certainly may vary. I definitely did not wait to pop in the sequel.

Grade: B

Reservoir Dogs: A veteran thief brings together six previously unacquainted criminals, who know each other only by their colors (e.g. Mr. Brown). They execute a jewelry heist (which we don’t see) that goes terribly wrong, so they begin to suspect that one among them is a police informant. Tarantino’s first movie is exceptional in its use of subtlety, symbolism, purposeful dialogue, and brutally honest character motivation. Almost the entire movie takes place in a warehouse where they all agree to meet after the heist. Despite being low on action, the movie is engaging and I was racking my brain the whole time. What a debut.

Grade: A-

Pulp Fiction: And what a sophomore effort. Told like a novel in where we get to know several seemingly unrelated characters, but when all the different story lines start coming together, it’s impossible to put the book down.The plot is difficult to describe without spending several paragraphs, but there’s hitmen, mob bosses, drugs, boxing, a record number of F-bombs, and one enormous MacGuffin. Tarantino single-handedly revived John Travolta’s career here, and the performances are great all-around. Won the award for Best Screenplay and deservedly so.

Grade: A+

Other Quentin Tarantino Movies You May Have Seen

Django Unchained
Inglourious Basterds
Death Proof
Grindhouse
Sin City
Jackie Brown

One thought on “Quentin Tarantino

  1. I don’t think I’d include Sin City since he had only a small hand in it, but I also hate that movie more than full rectal examinations, so that might color my view.

    Kill Bill: Vol. 2 is awesome, yeah. I’m with the critics, for sure. I also didn’t think the martial arts scene in the first was a second too long – I would watch that for the rest of time. It doesn’t make it the better “film,” but God, I love it.

    I’ve seen all his features, other than Django. Grindhouse = Death Proof, so you only need one spot there. It’s a very interesting script (but not one of his) that doesn’t translate perfectly to the screen, mostly because it is impossible to understand for non-writers. Basterds is a ton of tense fun (the basement scene with the handful of Nazis and Basterds is one of my favorite film scenes ever, as is the introduction to the heroine). Jackie Brown is more about fun moments than a great and coherent story. He was going for another Pulp Fiction and didn’t quite make it. He also wrote True Romance, which is obvious to anyone who’s seen it, but Tony Scott was tapped to direct, so from that angle it’s nowhere near as good as it could be.

Leave a Reply

