Top 25 Moments of LOST

Earlier this year the wife and I decided to watch Lost on Netflix and plowed through the whole series in about three months. One would think at that pace I would have absolutely loved the show, but sadly that’s not the case. I unequivocally love the first season, but after that it was a roller coaster and more of my memories are annoyance at the writers for dangling plot threads, inconsistent character motivations, and Kate. However, the cliffhangers were usually sufficient for us to keep hitting the play button to see what would happen next.

This countdown (with perhaps one or two exceptions) is highlighting moments instead of full episodes. I felt several episodes that were otherwise lackluster had some good moments, and since continuity is broken so many times for flashbacks, flashforwards, and other Back to the Future II zaniness, the show lends itself to remembering moments more than individual 42 minute blocks.  If I can find readily available video I’ll add them to the posts.

I don’t really want to spend an entire month on this show, so we’ll do two moments a day for two weeks. I’m sure there’ll be a scene or two I completely biff on, but that’s okay. It’s not like I’m reviewing Star Trek.

16 thoughts on “Top 25 Moments of LOST

  1. Sounds like we feel similarly about the show. I liken it to Battlestar Galactica – if a non-viewer were to pick an episode at random and watch it, they’d be convinced it was one of TV’s great shows. When you put it all together, though, it’s frustrating at many turns.

    It’s also got the most simplistic philosophy of any show that’s ever claimed to utilize philosophy. Novak praises it for its philosophy sometimes, but I don’t know where to start with that. “Everything has a black and white side…evil and good.” WOW, MAN, YOU JUST BLEW MY MIND

    • To belabor my point, I loved this show from a character standpoint. Aristotle’s six elements of drama are Plot, Character, Thought, Language, Rhythm and Spectacle (some of these have different names, but this is the way I learned them). I like the way Aristotle ordered them. So, a show with great character but an iffy plot can be good, but will always leave me unsatisfied.

      Looking forward to Sayid killing a guy with his feet while in handcuffs.

    • I think the main philosophical bent on the show is “fate versus choice”, but I had more rousing discussions about that debate in philosophy class than this show does.

      • I think the main philosophical bent is that this is the one life we’re given, and the philosophical resolution of fate vs. choice is sort of irrelevant. The best philosophy happens when it boils down to an examination of our lives and helps us live them. The character that Spooky praises and the philosophy that I praise work in harmony here. Yes, much of the other philosophy was too simplistic (is it ok to kill the abusive father? gah.), but the overarching “what if we took a bunch of characters and gave them a wide-variety of other lives, how would they react?” That’s a much better question than fate vs. choice. And the answers are myriad. Some people fight to get back to their old lives (Jack), some people embrace the new (Locke), some people find the people they lover are all that matter (Rose and Bernard), some people don’t adjust to one new life but do to others (Sawyer).

        That all said, Kate is a terrible character, and I will never defend her.

          • But not every drama addresses this issue. Yes, different characters are going to react differently to stimuli in every drama, but add what you get from characters in Lost to that deeper question…

            Also, the characters here were way more compelling than BSG. And way more consistent in their motivations, for the most part.

          • Yeah, let me pat this show on the back for being more consistent than one of the most inconsistent shows ever written. Well done, LOST.

            Every drama raises the issue of how characters respond to change. It’s not “philosophy” or anything special just because the change in LOST is so much different.

          • It isn’t philosophy because of that, it just happens to be an exploration of the philosophical questions raised in the show. That’s not true of every show, as not every show raises those same questions.

          • Yeah…the philosophical questions on this show just aren’t deep enough to be all that interesting. I had better bull sessions in college. I know it probably sounds like I didn’t like this show, but I did. It just wasn’t anything to write home about philosophically.

          • There was a lot of shallow philosophy, to be sure. But I think the overarching question is one that was sufficiently deep: what happens if your life is interrupted by a new life? Not some event, but something that is truly a new life in itself? That’s worth exploring.

            And I would hope there’d be deeper conversations in college. That’s what college does. It’s generally not what prime-time network TV does.

          • I think that was a huge appeal of the show, that these civilians were thrown into a different life. Of course, it didn’t take them that many episodes until they had nearly all the creature comforts of home; heck, they even got hot showers during season 2, which was what, two months later?

            Then it became about people from different backgrounds coming together to engage in a war. The show became less appealing for me once the sense of isolation withered away (not just from the world, but from each other; even Jin learned English really fast). Like Kelly, I obviously still liked it, but I really thought the magic from season 1 got hard to repeat with everything they introduced.

Leave a Reply

