9: Abbey Road (The Beatles)

Album: Abbey Road
Artist: The Beatles
Year: 1969

1. Come Together
2. Something
3. Maxwell’s Silver Hammer
4. Oh! Darling
5. Octopus’s Garden
6. I Want You (She’s So Heavy)
7. Here Comes the Sun
8. Because

Medley

9. You Never Give Me Your Money
10. Sun King
11. Mean Mr. Mustard
12. Polythene Pam
13. She Came In Through the Bathroom Window
14. Golden Slumbers
15. Carry That Weight
16. The End
17. Her Majesty

The last album The Beatles recorded, where they were all pretty much pissy with each other, is my favorite, mainly because of the epic sixteen-and-a-half medley at the end.  In fact, I combined the nine songs into a medley for my MP3 player, though I left She Came In Through the Bathroom Window and Golden Slumbers as individual songs as well. The latter is an amazing lullaby while the former showcases McCartney’s passionate voice at his best. Actually, Oh! Darling showcases McCartney’s voice at it’s best. He sang the song relentlessly for a week before recording it so the final track would sound like he was hoarse, much like on Twist and Shout.  It’s definitely a song that can only be sung by a young man. I heard Paul try to sing it a few years ago and my skin nearly crawled off my body to hit the mute button.

Harrison’s Something isn’t quite as ambitious but it’s a subtle, romantic song without being cloying. Come Together is pretty damn popular and I like it alright, but I think Lennon’s best song on the album is I Want You, but then again I’m a sucker for eight-minute songs that are mainly extended jams. In fact, only fourteen different words are spoken during the eight plus minutes.

The album’s major weak spot is from McCartney with Maxwell’s Silver Hammer. It’s a fun song the first few times through, but I’m pretty much done with it by now. It’s silly and belongs on Yellow Submarine, not here.  Starr’s Octopus’s Garden comes close to falling into the same trap, but is low-key enough to not seem completely out of place.

Many feel that Her Majesty should not have been tacked on at the end, what with The End being a poetic and fitting end to The Beatles. Ah, whatever. I like it.

Like with The Barenaked Ladies, there are a plethora of songs from The Beatles that make my Top 500 that didn’t get showcased on this countdown due to being on mediocre albums (or not on albums at all!).  Here they are, a whopping eighteen more:

If I Fell
And I Love Her
I’ve Just Seen A Face
Yesterday
Two of Us
I Am the Walrus
Penny Lane
Baby You’re a Rich Man
Blackbird
Happiness is a Warm Gun
I’m So Tired
Rocky Raccoon
She’s a Woman
Paperback Writer
Eleanor Rigby
I’m Only Sleeping
She Said She Said
Hey Bulldog

In fact, Hey Bulldog is a top fifteen song for me. Yeah, who’d of thunk, it being on Yellow Submarine and all.

4 thoughts on “9: Abbey Road (The Beatles)

      • Dr. Robert is only on the U.K. version of the album. If you stick with the U.S. release, you can miss that song (sorry, can’t help you with Yellow Submarine).

    • Eleanor Rigby is on it too, and that kills She Said She Said. But, yes, that’s either my favorite Beatles album, or my second favorite.

Leave a Reply

