36: Maybe You Should Drive (Barenaked Ladies)

Album: Maybe You Should Drive
Artist: Barenaked Ladies
Year: 1994

1. Jane
2. Intermittently
3. These Apples
4. You Will Be Waiting
5. A
6. Everything Old Is New Again
7. Alternative Girlfriend
8. Am I the Only One?
9. Little Tiny Song
10. Life, in a Nutshell
11. The Wrong Man Was Convicted
12. Great Provider

The second album by the Barenaked Ladies takes right off where Gordon ended, with incredibly creative lyrics. While the ballads don’t have as much emotional weight, the up tempo songs are even better. Life, in a Nutshell is easily my favorite song by the band, and only partly because their grammar skills (which are better than they admit in These Apples) stand out by correctly using “she” vs. “her.”  A small thing, but I appreciate it.  I can also identify with Jane, as I’ve been the safe guy in the friend zone, and the frustration in the lyrics is both genuine and sweet.

Other highlights are Intermittently, A, and Little Tiny Song, which I hope was inspired by the existential cow from The Restaurant at the End of the Universe. Alternative Girlfriend was a popular single in Canada, and I like it, but it really should have ended with “So we can get out of this town, cuz it makes me sick.” Instead, like a Bryan Adams ballad, it continues past it’s natural endpoint and does the chorus again.

The album ends on kind of a whimper. The Ladies are famous for their energy, and ending with two slow songs just feels wrong. But the first ten tracks are enough to make up for it.

3 thoughts on “36: Maybe You Should Drive (Barenaked Ladies)

  1. This is actually one of my least favorite BNL albums, but it’s probably my least listened to. I’ll have to reacquaint myself with Life, in a “Nutsell” and These Apples and see if they’re as good as you claim. ;-)

  2. I was always mildly into these guys but never fell for them like the crazy girls on TRL who knew every lyric of every song (which takes a huge commitment with these guys, who pack in as many lyrics as most rappers). I don’t know if I know the song you redded, so perhaps I’ll seek it out today.

Leave a Reply

