43: Sports (Huey Lewis & The News)

Album: Sports
Artist: Huey Lewis & The News
Year: 1983

1. The Heart of Rock & Roll
2. Heart and Soul
3. Bad Is Bad
4. I Want a New Drug
5. Walking on a Thin Line
6. Finally Found a Home
7. If This Is It
8. You Crack Me Up
9. Honky Tonk Blues

Is there anyone that sings really corny lyrics with as much earnestness as Huey Lewis? You can just tell how much he is feelin’ it when belting out lines like “neon lights, and the pretty, pretty girls, all dressed so scantily.” It’s a good thing, too. Because if he didn’t believe in his songs, they wouldn’t be near as good.

Nostalgia likely boosted this rating a little bit as it’s the first album that I memorized the lyrics to as a child. Every song on here begs you to sing along, especially Bad Is Bad with the “a rit-dit-dit-dit-do-wa-wa” in between verses. Heart and Soul is my favorite song of his after Power of Love. And while I’ve grown just a bit tired of them due to radio overplay, I still enjoy I Want a New Drug and If This Is It.  The album’s weakest offering is the last song (where have we heard this?), a cover of a Hank Williams song that should have been left a Hank Williams song. Huey’s version sucks the life right out of it despite it being competently produced.

I’m not a big fan of the band’s other two big selling albums, Picture This and Fore! Huey’s range is pretty limited and I think he used all of it up on this album. But I still dig it.

4 thoughts on “43: Sports (Huey Lewis & The News)

  1. This disc takes a lot of shots in pop culture for whatever reason. I suppose it hasn’t held up particularly well compared to the critical acclaim it once got, but it’s harmless fun.

    • I don’t remember where now, but I once saw a list of the worst songs of all-time and Heart of Rock n Roll was #1. Such a list is ridiculous anyway, but really?

      • I think it became cool to rag on this disc. Hell, it’s not even close to being the worst song with “Rock and Roll” as a major lyric. “We Built this City on Rock and Roll” is certainly much more painful, for starters.

  2. Love this album. Probably wore the cassette tape out until the cat pissed on it. I like Honky Tonk Blues (didn’t know it was a cover) better than You Crack Me Up, but the album could definitely end after If This Is It.

    There is of course Power of Love and Back in Time, but other songs I’ve listened to after that by him just haven’t done it for me. I remember buying an album that came out after this (Small World) and the style was drastically different from this I was disappointed.

Leave a Reply

