Top 50 PC Adventure Games: Wrap-up and Poll

Company appearances in the countdown

Sierra: 17
LucasArts: 9
Legend: 4
Infocom: 4
Virgin: 3
Interplay: 3
Valve: 2
Access: 2

Sierra’s total looks impressive until you remember how many adventure games they actually made (sixty-two, if you’re wondering).  Still, that’s over 25% that made the list.  But then you look at LucasArts, who had 9 games make the list, which is exactly 60% of their catalog. I am guessing that if I played Telltale’s entire catalog, it would rival LucasArts’ percentage.

So here’s a poll for you all.  Check out the list of games here and write in the comments how many games you’ve actually played. Then, if you can, recommend an adventure game I haven’t reviewed (even if it’s not for the PC).  And The Walking Dead doesn’t count, because I already own it and just haven’t gotten around to it yet.  And, just for fun, if you recommend a game that makes my worst list, I’ll post that review tomorrow.

18 thoughts on “Top 50 PC Adventure Games: Wrap-up and Poll

  1. I don’t care if it doesn’t count, you should play The Walking Dead. Just try not to do it immediately before going to bed like I’ve been doing. I have a hard time falling asleep afterwards because of the decisions I made in the game.

  2. I’m surprised you didn’t have Loom on the list. Though the game is shorter and easier than other Lucasarts games, it has my favorite story of any fantasy adventure game I’ve played and incredibly beautiful scenes.

    Also, I should mention the four ICOM Simulations games: Deja Vu, Shadowgate, Uninvited, and Deja Vu II. Each is pretty awesome.

    • As I mentioned in my NES countdown, I had serious concerns with Uninvited and Deja Vu didn’t break my Top 50 for that countdown. Haven’t played Deja Vu 2, though.

    • if the PC version of Shadowgate was just as good as the NES version, it probably would’ve landed in the top 25 or 30 on this countdown.

  3. I played Captain Bible and the Dome of Darkness, which is sort of an adventure game (one of my friends had a Ned Flanders life). I certainly wouldn’t recommend it, though.

    I obviously played and loved both Portal games.

    I played Shadowgate last night for a bit. Died a lot. Enjoyed it a fair bit except that point and click with a D-Pad (or arrow keys) is annoying as hell. Maybe I’ll get the Macintosh version emulated or something.

  4. I’ve played 24 of the top 50 (what a coincidence!) and all the top 7. I don’t think I’ve played an adventure game you haven’t, and aside from Star Wars games, Half-Life and starting Bio-shock, probably haven’t even played a computer game you haven’t.

    • One reader was sad that there were no Star Wars games on here. Are any of them light enough of on the action to be considered for this genre?

      • I don’t know that any I’ve played would be considered adventure. Not really any puzzles. All the ones I played were first person shooter or the Xwing/Tie Fighter battles. But I’m the sniper, creeping type in shooter games, not the run out with guns blazing type, so its more of an adventure.

        The story in Star Wars Jedi Knight: Dark Forces II was good and it had actual filmed cutscenes which were awesome and so rewarding to get to. Graphics and control would not be great by today’s standards.

  5. Okay, did a quick google to see if I could jog my memory.
    1) Sanitarium – Decent weird game. Played a pirated version so it was buggy.
    2) No love for the Myst series? Wrong genre?
    3) Machinarium – great game that deserves a high spot. I know you started it at least.

  6. I think I’ve played 13 on your top 50, but could be more . . . I’m almost certain I played Heart of China back when? Oh, my, the mention above, Machinarium, love that game, but I haven’t finished it either . . . I go back to it once in awhile, just for the fun of it, but then I have to start all over again . . .love that robot, he is so cute! I think Luke would like that game when he gets a bit older!

    One of my favorite computer games, that you will never add to your list, is Everest. It had so many technical glitches in the game, that I finally gave up on it, but I loved playing it nonetheless. Beau, I wish you were a game programmer, as if you were, I would ask you to make me a better “Climbing Mt. Everest” game program for me, as a birthday present! I keep hoping some game developer will come out with a new one in the future.

  7. Besides the three I already commented on and Portal, the one adventure game I played that isn’t on this list is Torin’s Passage. Apparently designed by Al Lowe, not that I knew anything about him when I played. I found it challenging when I first played it in 95-96, but a second play through a few years later was much easier.

    • I tried playing Torin’s Passage a couple of times (Al Lowe made the game for his daughter if I remember correctly). The first time I got bored sometime during the second chapter, and the second time the game kept crashing. It was produced well but much of the humour didn’t hit the mark for me.

Leave a Reply

