10: Contra

Genre: Platformer/Shooter

Developer: Konami
Publisher: Konami
Year: 1988

Basic Idea:  SPREAD GUN, BITCHES!!!

Review: Pretty much the perfect 2-player game, Contra is a blend of non-stop action, awesome power-ups, fun bosses, and seamless teamwork.  Nearly every time I get together with friends to play games, Contra makes the list.

The learning curve is really solid, almost moving too slowly.  A decent gamer can probably get to the fifth level without losing a life after just a bit of practice.  The game does get gradually harder after that, with the last level or two being kind of a pain.  I’ve never won the game without the 30-man life code but I’ve come close.

The controls are nearly flawless, with only some difficulty on the vertical level with all the jumping around.  The music is not great, but energetic enough for the genre.  And the levels are a visual treat, with some of the most kick-ass looking bosses on the NES.

My favorite co-op game on the NES, Contra is a must-have in any library.

 

7 thoughts on “10: Contra

  1. Awwww man Contra takes me back. Me and my brother used to play this, he would always try to screw me over, I just never noticed because I was so young. Great game, nice article, keep it up.

  2. Yeah, there’s still nothing wrong with this one. And, yeah, the difference between playing alone and with a homeboy is stark. I’ve probably beaten this with about fifteen different people.

Leave a Reply

