51: Power Blade

Genre: Platformer

Developer: Taito
Publisher: Taito
Year: 1991

Basic Idea: Find a secret agent on each maze-like level while disposing of baddies with your boomerang.

Review: What this game lacks in presentation it makes up for in perfect play-control.  Moving, jumping, hit-detection, and attacking are all flawless.  You can throw the boomerang in all the cardinal directions at any time.  And the power-ups are amazing.  The most powerful boomerang can go through walls!

The game also requires exploration and some occasional backtracking, but nothing ridiculous.  The bosses are quite easy.  Overall, the game is easier than Mega Man but more difficult than Super Mario Bros.  While the game isn’t extraordinarily memorable, it is fun and accessible to most.

7 thoughts on “51: Power Blade

  1. I have no recollection of this.

    Also, I only recall The Guardian Legend in title. I know my friend Jon loved it and talked about it a lot, but that’s everything I remember about it without screenshots.

      • In that case, I probably have heard of it.

        The drugs killed a lot of my childhood memories. That bums me out.

          • Sure, there’s that, although I feel like my memories left quicker, and more completely. Of course, there’s no way to confirm it either way, so it might just be that I was born to have a terrible memory. There isn’t a “control” spookymilk that never did drugs in high school I can compare myself to…

  2. Oh man, I played the crap out of this game. It was an almost constant rental for me. I don’t think I ever finished it, though, but I enjoyed it immensly.

    • I never played it on a console, so when I got it on the emulator, I would use save states when I got stuck. Definitely worth it, even then.

Leave a Reply

