71: Tecmo Cup Soccer Game

Genre: RPG

Developer: Tecmo
Publisher: Tecmo
Year: 1992

Basic Idea:  Help Robin Field become the best soccer player in the world.

Review: Yes, I said RPG.  There is zero action in this game.  Every decision on the soccer field is done on a turn-by-turn basis, with your typical Tecmo action shots.  During each turn, as it were, you have a decision to make as to what you’ll do with the ball (or how you’ll choose to defend).  There is a strategy to learn that is logical, but eventually becomes frustrating as it seems nothing you do is successful once you start facing the harder teams.  Between each game, your players stats improve based on how they played in the previous game.  There’s also some corny pep talks.

I’ve never made it anywhere near the end of the game.  But it’s certainly a unique title that could have been great if done with a bit more precision.
3 thoughts on “71: Tecmo Cup Soccer Game

  1. I feel like I’m being Punk’d here or something. How could I have not at least known about somethings as bizarre as a turn-based soccer RPG? The title alone has me giggling. Why would a game need the word “game” at the end? Awesome.

    • It’s known as Tecmo Cup Football Game in Europe! In Japan, it’s Captain Tsubasa, which sounds more like a superhero action game. I’m not sure which is more accurate.

      • Me neither, but they’re all hilarious.

        The first time I ever heard the word “Tsubasa,” I got this stupid saying stuck in my head: “Mi casa es tsubasa.” It has never left, 16 years later. I couldn’t have told you what tsubasa meant, but it pops in my head a couple of times a week.

Leave a Reply

