Zoda’s Revenge: Startropics 2

Developer: Nintendo
Publisher: Nintendo
Year:  1994

Reason It Could Make Top 100: The first game makes the list, obviously.  More than that, there’s a time travel plot that sends Mike to different eras and locations.  Play control is more fluid.

Reason It’s Not There Yet:  I didn’t try playing it until I was much older, and I had a hard time motivating myself to go very far.  While I found the first section or two appealing, it didn’t blow me away.  It actually seemed less colorful (both sprite and personality wise) than the original.  The play control was more fluid, but in a way I found it more difficult.  The first game, you can only move in four directions, but movement is very predictable.  Zoda’s Revenge allows for movement and fighting in eight directions, but I feel it’s awkward at times and the enemies are much stronger to compensate.

Questions for Readers:  If anyone has played it, have they progressed far?  Is the story line engaging?  Are the puzzles fun?

Leave a Reply

