10: Clues (4.14)

Synopsis:  I cannot answer that.

Memory Alpha Summary:  Seriously, I cannot answer that.

Review: I love Picard’s opening log: “We expect passage past the Ngame Nebula to be uneventful.”  Guess what?

A very ambitious mystery that keeps you guessing right up to the end; this episode is made even more amazing because Data has to consistently…withhold the truth (he never technically outright lies), which confuses and concerns the entire crew.  The whole thing is creepy despite no real action.  And I totally dig the final revelation.

And then I think…wait a cotton pickin’ minute.  So at the end of this episode, they have lost two whole days but think they’ve only lost thirty seconds.  What happens when they actually check a time beacon?  The ending negates the entire plot!

Still, I love it to pieces.

Have a happy 4th everyone.  Here’s a clue: come back Thursday for #9!

6 thoughts on “10: Clues (4.14)

  1. “Huh. Looks like my period is a couple days early.”

    “Hey, mine is too!”

    “WAIT A MINUTE…”

    Interesting episode, but I never mentally considered it in my top 10.

  2. I never saw this one. It seems like that big problem you observe is big enough that it would have kept it out of my favorites.

    • Maybe. Back to the Future and Terminator 2 are two of my favorite movies and they each have plot holes about every fifteen seconds. However, I found The Game to be much less satisfying after I realized the ending negated the entire movie.

  3. Saw this last night. Enjoyed it very much. Maybe not quite top 10, but for sure top 20. One of the best “Freak of the Week” episodes.

    The plot hole bothered me a little, but I’m going to assume that Data was able to program the clock to steal back a couple of seconds every so often. Hey, it worked in Entrapment.

Leave a Reply

