53: Hide and Q (1.10)

Synopsis:  Q makes Riker his bitch.

Memory Alpha Summary:  But not his Imzadi

Review:  John De Lancie is magnificent here, even better than in his debut.  “Oh, your species is always suffering and dying,” starts this one out with a bang.  Then he calls Worf “macro-head” and I am completely hooked on this character.

The one blip in this episode is Tasha being put in the penalty box.  Denise Crosby is NOT good at crying on screen.  It doesn’t help that she’s given awful lines like “it sounds strange but it definitely isn’t.”  However, Stewart saves this scene by telling her that he’s established a new rule on the bridge that it is okay to cry in the penalty box.  This is the patient, sensitive captain this crew needs, and it’s great to see Picard act this way.  Tasha is obviously impressed, replying with, “If you weren’t a captain…”  and Picard somehow manages not to act creeped out by the sexual undertones of that statement.

Another hilarious (perhaps unintentional) meme from this episode is how everyone calls Q’s creatures “animal things.”  Talk about scary!  And vicious!  Animal things, oooo!

Riker’s very rapid change into dickery once he is granted Q’s powers seems a little off base, but it’s fun to see his colleagues knock him off his pedestal.  Of course, he turns Wesley into an adult male that looks nothing at all like Wil Wheaton, so I guess his powers weren’t perfect after all.

11 thoughts on “53: Hide and Q (1.10)

  1. It really has to kill the writers when they give someone a crying scene and they aren’t capable of doing it (for some reason, this is a thing that a lot of good actors can’t do. It drives me nuts. It’s the same as any other emotion). Not only has she partially ruined the scene in question, but now the writers can never have her cry again.

    The worst ever is Sarah Jessica Parker. She cried once early in Sex in the City and the writers didn’t go back to it – despite having reason – more than once or twice more in the entire run. She was dreadful. When my four-year-old daughter fakes crying to get attention from me, it’s easier to buy.

    • Would it be harder for a method actor to cry? I feel like I could well up real rage inside of me, or real sadness, or real joy and convincingly show that emotion. Crying would be tougher, at least the actual tears part. I might need some eyedrops or the end of Toy Story 3 playing in the background.

      • It depends on what you mean by “method,” since most people misuse the term. In fact, I’m not even really sure how you mean it.

        I’m a method actor, in that I follow Stanislavski and Strasberg’s cue and internalize my emotions, and “classical” (external) acting focuses more on simulating the act physically. It’s kind of a Coke-Pepsi thing in that both can get you there and each actor will have a way to get him there, but actors fight about it all the time as if there’s a right or a wrong answer.

        There’s no common thread among method or classical actors when it comes to crying on cue, although I will say that crying on cue is something I can do very well and at any time, but not because I internalize the emotion – I’m just good at mimicking it. I’m generally method, but not in the case of crying.

        Despite having this talent, I’ve only ever had to cry in one production. Que sera sera.

        • I think you reflected what I meant, that it might be tougher to internalize crying than to mimic it. But maybe good actors suck at mimicking it, too.

          • Yup. Indeed, some of the best actors I’ve ever worked with couldn’t cry on cue.

  2. Just watched this one for the first time. It’s nice to have “new” ones to watch.

    Totally agree on Riker’s “rapid change into dickery”. At least he equally rapidly changed back to balance it out :) With Geordi’s newfound sight and all the things to appreciate, his first comment is “you’re as beautiful as I imagined” to Tasha. Awkward and forced.

    The endgame was good though. When I saw that picture you posted to start out the Top Moments countdown, I wondered if Wesley being speared was even from a real episode or just fan art, as I certainly didn’t recall that scene. Now I know.

Leave a Reply

